Florentine area: the beautiful towns surrounding Florence

The Florentine touristic area is made up of 17 neighbouring municipalities to Florence that hold wonderful treasures just waiting to be discovered.

What is the Florentine area? The Florentine area is made up of Florence and beyond its walls and historic center, drawing on the extraordinary beauty of the towns and municipalities that surround it. Florence is not alone in its territory, just like a flower that needs its petals to form. Visiting these places means immersing yourself deeper into your understanding of the area, where stories, legends and traditions originate.

The Florentine area is made up of 18 municipalities, including Florence, which surround the city: Bagno a Ripoli, Calenzano, Campi Bisenzio, Fiesole, Figline and Incisa Valdarno, Florence, Impruneta, Lastra a Signa, Londa, Pelago, Pontassieve, Reggello, Rignano sull'Arno, Rufina, Scandicci, Sesto Fiorentino, Signa and Vaglia.

These are just some of the hidden treasures that we invite you to visit:

Fiesole - Convent of San Francesco


Reggello - The Balze dell’Acqua Zolfina

Impruneta - Terracotta tradition

Rufina - Villa of Poggio Reale

Scandicci - Abbey of San Salvatore and San Lorenzo

Bagno a Ripoli - Oratory of Santa Caterina delle Ruote